Khumalo to captain Bafana at Afcon 2013

Bongani Khumalo will captain Bafana Bafana at the upcoming African Cup of Nations, it was confirmed Sunday, however there was no place for veteran forward Benni McCarthy in Gordon Igesund’s 23-man squad.

Bafana Bafana will kick off next month's tournament, which is being held in South Africa, against Cape Verde on January 19.

They’ll also play Angola and Morocco in Group A.

Khumalo (pictured) has taken on the captaincy following Steven Pienaar’s retirement from international football.

The majority of Igesund’s 23-man squad are locally based, with 11 from Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs.

"We are now embarking on a long and difficult mission and we cannot do it alone, your support will be very crucial to see us through," Igesund said on Sunday, appealing to South African fans to revive the support they showed for the home team at the World Cup in 2010.

"Now that the final squad has been selected, the focus is now on the tournament. Real and hard work begins for all of us."



Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Wayne Sandilands (Sundowns), Senzo Meyiwa (Orlando Pirates). 

Defenders: Bongani Khumalo (PAOK), Siyabonga Sangweni (Orlando Pirates), Thabo Nthethe (Bloemfontein Celtic), Anele Ngcongca (Racing Genk), Siboniso Gaxa (Kaizer Chiefs), Tshepo Masilela (Kaizer Chiefs), Thabo Matlaba (Orlando Pirates).

Midfielders: Kagisho Dikgacoi (Crystal Palace), Dean Furman (Oldham), Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs), Oupa Manyisa (Orlando Pirates), May Mahlangu (Helsingborg), Thulani Serero (Ajax), Lerato Chabangu (Moroka Swallows), Thuso Phala (Platinum Stars), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs).

Strikers: Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs), Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tokelo Rantie (Malmo), Lehlohonolo Majoro (Kaizer Chiefs).

Image: Getty